World Choir Games 2018

In the summer of 2018, CONSONUS Vocal Ensemble will have the opportunity to represent Switzerland at the World Choir Games in Tshwane (South Africa). The World Choir Games is an international choir festival that takes place every two years on different continents. The event is based on the Olympic ideal of bringing people and peoples together in a peaceful manner and in fair competition. On the one hand the competition, on the other hand the singing together in the center. In addition to the competition performances, the choir has the opportunity to organize various friend concerts with choirs from all over the world.

CONSONUS Vokalensemble has qualified directly for the CHAMPIONS Competition due to its strong performance at the Swiss Choir Competition 2017 and thus can compete with the best choirs in the world. In addition to the choir category “mixed chamber choirs” CONSONUS can compete in two other categories, namely in the categories “Musica sacra a cappella” and “Spiritual”.

In the category Mixed Chamber Choirs, CONSONUS will present some of the pearls of Swiss choral music. The song ‘La-haut sur la montagne’ is a potpourri of Swiss folk songs in all national languages. So CONSONUS also contributes to bringing Swiss choral music out into the world.

World Choir Games 2018

Im Sommer 2018 hat CONSONUS Vokalensemble die Möglichkeit, die Schweiz an den World Choir Games in Tshwane (Südafrika) zu vertreten. Die World Choir Games sind ein internationales Chorfestival, welches im 2-Jahres-Rhythmus auf verschiedenen Kontinenten stattfindet. Die Veranstaltung richtet sich dabei nach dem olympischen Ideal, Menschen und Völker auf friedliche Weise und im fairen Wettbewerb zusammenzuführen. Dabei steht einerseits der Wettbewerb, andererseits das gemeinsam Singen im Zentrum. Nebst den Wettbewerbsauftritten hat der Chor die Möglichkeit, mit Chören aus der ganzen Welt verschiedene Freundschaftskonzerte zu gestalten.

CONSONUS Vokalensemble hat sich durch die starke Leistung am Schweizer Chorwettbewerb 2017 direkt für die CHAMPIONS Competition qualifiziert und kann so mit den besten Chören der Welt in Wettstreit treten. Nebst der Chorkategorie „gemischte Kammerchöre“ kann CONSONUS in zwei weiteren Kategorien antreten, nämlich in den Kategorien „Musica sacra a cappella“ und „Spiritual“.

In der Kategorie Gemischte Kammerchöre wird CONSONUS einige Perlen der Schweizer Chormusik präsentieren. Das Stück ‚La-haut sur la montagne’ ist ein Potpourri aus Schweizer Volksliedern in allen Landessprachen. So trägt CONSONUS auch dazu bei, die Schweizer Chormusik in die Welt hinauszutragen.