Consonus goes to the World Choir Games – but before that: Chiavenna

Already the name: “World Choir Games”. The olympic games of choral singing, a competition with choirs from all over the world. Since the year 2000, this year is the tenth issue; we are going to South Africa, to Tshwane, over 200 choirs have registered – and we are the only Swiss participants.

We are CONSONUS vocal ensemble – so a choir. Young, dedicated people singing together. Founded in 2016. We come (with some exceptions) from the regions of Lucerne, Zurich, northeastern Switzerland and Graubünden. 32 votes, ie eight per vote register; a conductor.

And this conductor took us by surprise more than a year ago, when he almost announced us at a joint dinner: “We go to the World Choir Games. To South Africa. »
This announcement turned into a heart project for 2018. At the end of last year the first rehearsals started, at the beginning of the year we organized a very successful crowdfunding. And now the main rehearsal was on: We visited the Bündner Kantonalgesangsfest “Rezia Cantat”, which took place last weekend in Chiavenna. Chiavenna ?! Bündner Vocal Festival ?! Yes, exactly: This year’s Bündner Gesangsfest took place in Chiavenna (Italy) and also houses the Northern Italian Song Festival. Here we rehearsed accordingly our international appearance.

CONSONUS is a member of the Bündner Kantonalgesangsfest. Why? Because we are a supraregional choir, our president and our conductor are from Grisons.

For a special occasion, we presented a short program with pieces at the Vocal Festival, which we will also sing in South Africa. Including typical pieces for mixed choir, along with some sacred pieces and a pair of gospel – matching the categories we will be competing for in the World Choir Games: “Mixed Choir”, “Musica Sacra a cappella” and “Spiritual”.

Stay tuned! We’ll get back to you soon. From the 7th of July we will keep you informed daily about our South African journey.

Consonus fährt an die World Choir Games – aber zuvor: Chiavenna

Alleine schon der Name: «World Choir Games». Die selbsternannten olympischen Spiele des Chorgesangs, ein Wettbewerb mit Chören aus aller Welt. Gibt’s seit dem Jahr 2000, dieses Jahr ist die zehnte Ausgabe an der Reihe; es geht nach Südafrika, nach Tshwane, es haben sich über 200 Chöre angemeldet – und wir sind die einzigen Schweizer Teilnehmer.

Gestatten, wir sind CONSONUS Vokalensemble – also ein Chor. Junge, engagierte Leute, die gemeinsam singen. Gegründet im Jahr 2016. Wir stammen (mit einigen Ausnahmen) aus den Regionen Luzern, Zürich, Nordostschweiz und Graubünden. 32 Stimmen, also je acht pro Stimmregister; ein Dirigent.

Und dieser Dirigent hat uns vor mehr als einem Jahr ziemlich überrumpelt, als er uns bei einem gemeinsamen Nachtessen schon fast nebenbei verkündete: «Wir gehen an die World Choir Games. Nach Südafrika.»
Aus dieser Ankündigung wurde ein Herzensprojekt für 2018. Ende letztes Jahr starteten die ersten Proben, Anfang Jahr veranstalteten wir ein sehr erfolgreiches Crowdfunding. Und nun stand die Hauptprobe an: Wir besuchten das Bündner Kantonalgesangsfest «Rezia Cantat», am vergangenen Wochenende in Chiavenna stattgefunden hat. Chiavenna?! Bündner Gesangsfest?! Ja genau: Das diesjährige Bündner Gesangsfest fand in Chiavenna (Italien) statt und beherbergt auch noch das oberitalienische Gesangsfest. Hier probten wir dementsprechend unseren internationalen Auftritt.

CONSONUS ist Mitglied beim Bündner Kantonalgesangsfest. Warum? Weil wir zwar ein überregionaler Chor sind, unser Präsident und unser Dirigent aber aus Graubünden stammen.

Aus gegebenem Anlass präsentierten wir am Gesangsfest ein kurzes Programm mit Stücken, die wir auch in Südafrika singen werden. Darunter typische Stücke für gemischten Chor, dazu kommen einige geistliche Stücke und ein Paar Spirituals – passend zu den Kategorien, in denen wir an den World Choir Games antreten werden: «Mixed Choir», «Musica Sacra a cappella» und «Spiritual».

Stay tuned! Wir melden uns bald wieder. Ab dem 7. Juli halten wir euch täglich hier auf grheute über unsere Südafrika-Reise auf dem Laufenden.